The best way for a society is to prepare its young people for leadership in government , industry or other fields
is by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition.
Young people are the future of the society and for any society or organisation to succeed they must have a good
leader. So by preparing young people for leadership role by instilling in them the sense of cooperation will serve
as a fantastic quality for both the organisation and its people, but competition is also equally important for the
individuals to perform well. Here I will disagree with the author's claim that competition is not necessary.
In order to achieve great heights one must have a goal and he must work hard to protect it and achieve it, if there
in no competition then there is no need to protect it as no one else is there to achieve it. And so young individuals
may not realise its importance and nor they will feel the need to work hard for it. It is likely that in such scenario
anyone will tend to become lazy and start delaying the things. So healthy competition is very necessary in order
to keep individuals self motivated and focused. It will instil them the feeling of self awareness and the necessity
to work for their aim or role.
Suppose we have taught our young generation how to work in a team and how to cooperation but until and
unless healthy competition is not there they many not feel the zealous energy work for it. If healthy competition
is present among them and one person achieves a goal then it not only increase confidence of that individual but
will also motivate others to achieve similar heights. As per the Steve jobs Biography when Steve jobs had
founded apple, at that time bill gates was still finding an idea to open his company to do something different. Till
then Bill was not aware of Steve's company or his idea and so he was working casually but the moment Apple
company hit the market and rose exponentially, this gave Bill gates goosebumps and a sense of competition
motivated him to do something more. It was the result of competition that pushed him so much and now we all
can see how much he has achieved.
Thus, competition plays a major role among individual in order to achieve or excel in something. Cooperation is
also necessary but the combination of Healthy competition and cooperation play a vital role for any
organisation or individual growth.