The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

Society must inhibit values of cooperation instead of competition among the young people not only for leadership but in any field they wish to pursue for their better futures.

Cooperation results from amalgam of other values such as humanity, team work, magnanimity, etc. and several others which ultimately results in better society around us. So for young people to be successful in any field or activity, they must try to inculcate such values and in return, society must prepare them on such grounds instead of just trying to compete in between. Hence, cooperation along with other values bolsters the young generation to be successful in their respective careers.

Society, on the other hand sometimes tend to inculcate competition among young people by unintentionally placing them amidst the macabre of caste, sex or religion. Not only society but individuals themselves sometimes perceive differences based on above factors to give rise to a sense of hatred among the themselves. This not only hampers the individual but also has devastating effects on society. Therefore, society and members of it must try to avoid such influences and must try to work for welfare of others.

Next contributing factor towards leadership is thought process. This, completely, is devoid of society, instead is based on the given person. Young people are the building blocks for any society. They tend to act in a way which is derived from their thought processes. An individual who thinks of society first, will always try to contribute towards society in any possible way. On the other hand, individual who just thinks of himself first, will always try to circumvent their duties towards society. Hence, apart from cooperation, thinking perspective of an individual also matters.

Society, alone is not the only contributor towards creating leadership among young people. Instead, it just plays a minor role among several other factors. Hence, young people should themselves must be first rigid enough in their thought processes to be successful in their respective streams they choose to contribute towards.