The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To achieve success in any field, the skill of leadership plays a very important role. Governing a country, a sports team or even a business requires a combination of great skills. It also requires a lot of man hours, as there is very little that can be accomplished without the help of the people involved in it. Young people play a huge part in the government and the economy of a country, and if a harmful trait is inspired in them during their training or upbringing, the results can go south very quickly. Cooperation versus competition is a very objective matter that can be have its pros and cons on either side, but to make better decisions, cooperation plays a more significant role.

Government and politics, along with sports and industry, have one thing in common, that is, teamwork. They all have a similar structure as it all involves people using the skills they are best at to achieve a similar outcome. The people indulging in these industries are working towards the same goal. Having the ability to cooperate can help those people understand and accept different perspectives of the matter at hand, for example, while passing a bill or making a policy or law for a state, people have to come to a consensus to make it happen. If there is competition amongst them, even though there is a chance to get better results, there could be a lot of conflicts, which can be harmful. If those law or policy makers are cooperative, they can work better as a team to come to a decision that is better for the people, which is the ulitmate purpose, serving the people. Competition can urge people to do better than others, and provide better results, but to implement those results you will need the help of the team, which will eventually require cooperation.

Cooperation can help use the specialized skills of people to thier advantage as it can be a combination of useful skills coming together. Responsibilities can be divided according to whoever is best at their work, and so instead of having one good skill put to use, the team can have many good skills bringing in a better result. Competition can bring in the dilemma of people having a superiority complex which can turn out to be harmful as people will not be in a healthy environement, resulting in a more hostile environment. This will also have people not achieve as much as they are capable of. Wars can not be won without cooperation, the economy can not grow without cooperation, and sports teams can not win titles without cooperation.

So it is important to have some aspect of competition in the character traits in the young leaders of the world, as it promotes them to do better, and not be content with what they are doing or have achieved, but there is more importance of cooperation as they need it to implement their plan as it needs to be a collective effort in the end. The government would be crippling along with the economy if there was only competition instilled in the people. It is also important for young people to be taught that which side of this battle to choose when, as every situation needs a different way of handling. There is no black or white, and so if they are aware when competition will lead to better results, they should be more competitive, but they should also know when cooperation is a better route to take, they should do it. Most successes do not come from individual performances as much as they do from a team effort. To execute the plan, a leader needs their people to work together, accept their differences, and cooperate. After all, they are all working towards the same goal.