The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition quot Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or d

It is a common misconception among general population that one can only climb the ladder of success through competing with other people. And the prompt rightly suggests that in order to prepare young people for the real world, teaching them cooperation is more effective than competition. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion for two major reasons. But I do concede that some form of healthy competition is also necessary to prepare a young generation for the real world.

To begin, familiarizing the concept of cooperation to students or young generation from the beginning helps them understand the importance of working in a team. Human by nature is a dependent being. Societies and states are formed from this notion of cooperation. Without a team or alliance, no people can survive alone in this world. For instance, no job or work can be done independently. Laborers building an establishment needs a team to complete their task, Scientists conducting a research needs help form their contemporaries to bring in new ideas or help them understand existing ideas, no government can survive and develop his/her nation without forming an alliance. These examples demonstrate that in every aspect of the world, success is achieved through cooperation not through competition.

Moreover, instilling competition among younger people rather than cooperation will bring havoc rather than success. Excessive competition brings out the toxicity in any person. People start to conspire against one another, try to put down one another to gain advantage when they believe in competition more than cooperation. For example, when employees in a company starts to compete against one another to get up in the ladder of success, they will belittle one another, conspire , doublecross and even betray one another. So, sense of competition brings out the worse in any situation.

However, I do concede that some level of healthy competition among peers help them grow and develop their skills. For example, two students when competes with each other, will better understand their lackings and can work towards this lacking and become more skills. Absence of any sense of competition might make people more complacent and lathergic. Some might feel that even if I cannot complete a task, my teammate will and thus putting the burden of his task on his colleague.

In conclusion, instilling cooperation in people from a younger phase will help people understand the importance of team building and working together. They will be free from any toxicity that compeition brings out in people. But, healthy competition among peers is also necessary for personal growth.