"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

We live in a society where change is inevitable. This change could be both in a good and a bad way i.e it could lead to growth and have a positive effect or could have a detrimental effect in our society.Both sides of this coin are a result of cooperation and competition , it all depends on the perspective and motive of the individual which brings change.I agree with the author that in most cases it is a sense of cooperation which is the best way to prepare individuals to lead in fields of politics , business, education and many more.Albeit the author should not discard the idea of healthy competition as it could prove to be fruitful in some cases.

Firstly,in the field of politics building up a government is a team job.Although there is a single person who leads a particular government i.e the Prime Minister or President in case of some countries but still these people become who they are because of the team constantly working for them.Hence in order to develop a career in politics one should have people skills and develop a sense of co-operation instead of being a maverick and creating competition.

Secondly,in the industrial fields it is networking which helps a person to progress further in his/her domain.If a person is rude with his colleagues then this would create a sense of hostility in the work environment and others will try to bring that person down.It is always good to strive to be better than someone but in that journey one should also develop a sense of camaraderie while working with other people.For instance, if a person is rude to his colleagues and friends they will not help him when the time comes for searching a new job or making any references to find a new one.They will instead portray you in a wrong way in the minds of your future employer.Hence it is always better to be cooperative with other people for both our personal and societal gains.

However,it is not always cooperation which helps a person to grow. As their should a healthy competition instilled in people's minds otherwise they would be lackadaisical in their jobs.As in a team environment if there are no personal advantages to the job, a particular person might not perform any work as he would think that someone from his team will eventually do it, bringing down the competence of the entire team.Also the people who excel in any field are provided with more opportunities as compared to others. For instance , a student who is the best in his school generally gets the best university.Similarly a professional who is best at his job gets a promotion. Therefore in some cases it is competition which helps in development of an individual.

In this constantly changing society, it is cooperation which will help a person in the longer run.Albeit he/she should be able to distinguish between situations where competition is necessary over cooperation. Hence yound minds should be made capable enough to succeed in all situations possible , by instilling the best of both senses in them.