The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree.

Good leadership is crucial to the healthy sustenance and growth of the society. Every human society needs some sort of structure and leadership to coordinate the affairs of the people within the society. A society without leaders to provide and enforce laws while bringing a sort of direction or plan for the people is one Thomas Hobbs sjuccintly describes as a chaotic society. Over the course of history, the pertinence of leadership is one that can in no way be underestimated. To prepare those, especially the young ones who would take up this crucial role of leadership and become heads companies, industries, institutions and even teams ,we must begin to instill the right values and mindset. On this premise, i believe that instilling in these young ones the sense of coorperation should remain the primary goal of any formal or informal preparation method. A healthy sense of coorperation serves more advantageous than one of competition.

The nature of leadership in it self is one that breeds a relationship between the leaders and his followers. Leaders must be able to work well with their followers and also more importantly be able to inspire followers to action. The nature of this relationship is one that holds coorperation to more importance. To achieve any project, goal or mission, the leader needs coorperation of the several elements and individuals needed to accomplish his goal and his dream. Just like a simple football match the manager must be able to synergize the efforts of the goalkeeper, defenders, midfielders, and attackers to achieve the goal of winning the match. "Team work makes the dream work" thus it is the duty of the leader to inspire coorperation but how does a leader rooted in the mindset of competition draw this synergy. Adam smith introduced the concept of division of labour and we have seen truely that peoiple have differing skillsets and specializations that need to be synergized to accomplish seemingly complex goals.

It is a given that competition drives one to become more and do better, as we have seen countless times in sports and also in war, competition being the prime driver of new records and feats. However, despite the pros and the inate motivation that may be benefitted from competition, one must also note the high level of maturity needed to handle such a mindset as it is very easy for healthy competition to turn to a bloody one, where parties are willing to go to any extent to win. The vulnerability of the young mind is one that cannot be faulted as he has yet to gather the needed experience to realise the consequencies of his or her action or realise that there are ethical boundaries. Therefore it is very crucial to make more primary the installation of a coorperative mindset one that is safer to nurture and emphasizes the true nature of humans which lies in our proclivity to be gregarious. Leaders need to know when to compete and when to coorperate or compromise, instilling a sense of competition will build a more confrontational mindset, a mindset that yearns for battle at all costs.