The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sesnse of cooperation, not competition.

The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sesnse of cooperation, not competition. I believe this to be true, and I will explain my line of thought in the following paragraphs.

By definition, leadership means leading a set of people to achieve a desired aim. By leading what I mean is taking initiative, making steps to make the lives of people better. Leadership is like bring in the driver's seat in a vehicle. In that case, you're directing the affairs of your followers.

Naturally, everyone has the instinct to compete, it's inborn to desire to be better than someone else, however to be a good leader, such natural instinct must be done away with. Or at least, be drastically reduced.

For a society to blossom, it must train its young crop of leaders to become selfless and more cooperative amongst themselves. Without this, there would be trouble if they eventually get into power. This can be done effectively if the elderly ones mirror such virtues as cooperation amongst themselves and a desire to lift one another up.

There is a popular maxim that says "to be a good leader, you must be a good follower." This maxim underlies the notion that leaders are not made overnight. Gone are the days when rulers became rulers as a result of birth or family affiliation. In today's world, the principles of democracy and fair rule hold sway over the traditional means of governance.

The extent to which I agree with this statement is that when a society trains its young people to cooperate rather than compete, they would live to help one another whether its convenient for them or not, and this would help that society to blossom.

My most compelling reasons is that when you train up a child in the way he/she should go, he/she would not depart from it. So, when the young people are trained not to compete, but to cooperate with one another, it would help the society to blossom when they grow older.