The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

What are the qualities that great leaders share in common? The very first thing that comes in my mind is the quality to handle people, connect people, which also means good cooperation with various people. The author claims, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling cooperation and not competition. I mostly agree with the authors claim but, I also admit that in this fast growing world competitiveness is also crucial and all other factors are equally important.

To begin with, cooperation and coordination are necessary factors for growth of any great personality or business. For example, if I am a political leader, with my own sets of opinions. However, in my political party there are many different people with different sets of opinions and likings. In such a case, to build a strong government all the leaders of the political party have to cooperate with each other to stay in power. Hence, cooperation is one of the necessary factor to become a great leader.

In addition to this, I feel, cooperation is not the only factor that brings you up to become a great personality. In this competitive world, where we see competitiveness in each bit of life, for example, while getting an admit in a university. The admission counselling will have hundreds of admission applicants, out of which they will select only a few. In this case, there is of course a competition in between all of the candidates to get an admit. Similarly to become a leader, there are many more people who want to become a leader. But, what makes you different from the others is important. Hence, competitiveness plays an important role as well while developing qualities to become an efficient leader.

To conclude, I would like to say both competition and coordination are equally important while building up necessary qualities to become a leader. Nothing can be of lesser importance than other, because, a good leader is not just competitive or coordinative, all other factors are crucially important. Hence, young people should develop in all the qualities and not not just in a single one.