The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To change a negative situation about the environment there are many possible steps witch might be taken. One of them is to put severe limitations on the amount of trash produced by householders. Otherwise, I do not think this is the best way to solve the emerged problems as it presented in the statement above.

First of all, the claim states that strict limits have to be imposed on towns and cities, but there is no information about householders loving in the countryside. Potentially, keepers of houses in cities may have an insignificant effect on the environment while people in villages and small settlements may influence it in a much negative way. For example, the great amount of organic waste may be produced in such places where the level of agriculture is high. Moreover, the level of life in the countryside often does not lag behind the life in cities. Thus, people living in other places may have a greater effect on the environment as well.

Secondly, the main idea of the statement is to put strict limits, and from this the question is rising up. What does it mean strict limits? Who are they strict for? If it underlies that householders have to pay the great amount of money for rules violation, then who sets up this amount. The fact need to be taken into account that not for all people these limits may occur strict and severe. For example, for one person a 500$ fan is a lot of money, but for the other is not. That is why the question of strict rules is relative.

Moreover, the suggestion in the claim mentions only householders, but not other possible sources of producing waste. There are companies, plants, and other industrial enterprises which create the greater amount of trash than lay people. For instance, a plant producing plastics will have more leftovers and trash than a person who threw away waste out of his apartments.

To sum up, I disagree that the method presented in the claim can change the environmental situation to better, because there are some omissions.