Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are two different ways for people who travel – some may travel on their own, while others may join the group of other tourist headed by a tour guide. In my personal view, the second option has more advantages that the first, that’s why I advocate the statement that it is a good idea to travel with a guide.

The first reason is because organizing my trip this way, I can feel more protected, because I will be with other people and a person who knows the location around. When a person is another country, there might occur some situations when you might be at risk. I think that being with a guide helps to avoid many such problems as to be robed or fooled. A guide is a person who knows well the place he is showing to his tourists, that’s why he will not show Skid Row. For example, when my friend visited Brazil their group avoided visiting the suburbs of Rio, because it was dangerous for their life.

The next reason is that since a guide knows the place better than a tourist who has just arrived in a new country or city, he may advise some interesting and unique places which cannot be found on the map or in the guide. I remember my trip to Prague where are a lot of narrow and tiny streets and lines in the historic center, that’s why I had to take a guide to show me around. It was impossible to find some places of interest without his help.

Moreover, a guide may help to avoid difficulties with misunderstanding because of a language. Even if a person can speak English, which is one of the most widespread languages in the world, he still may face problems with communicating with local people. For example, when last time I was in France near Strasburg, I wanted to visit a remote village 50 miles away. When I came to the railway station, I found out that the cashier could not speak English. That day I was not succeeded to buy any tickets, that’s why I booked a tour with a guide and I forgot about any troubles which may have happened.

Thus, traveling with a guide is a good solution for people who want to feel safety during their trip. Also, a guide may be helpful with the contacts with the locals as well as he can show some secret and hidden from tourist places.