Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

All people need friends. We call to our friends when we are upset about something or when we want to share our happiness and joy. Some people have a lot of friends and get acquaintances very easily, but there is another type of the people who support the idea that it is better to have fewer friends, but they will be the best ones. I am one of these people who do not have a wide circle of friends, but I think it is for better.

The first reason is that if a person has not got many friends, he can devote time for each of them. To have a string relationship with our friends we should always contact with them: to call to them or to meet up with. When a person has only several close friends, it means he can find time for all of them. For example, every day I call to my friends to ask how they are getting on, what has happened with them, thus, we are in touch, which helps us to stay in good relationship even if we are far away from each other.

The second reason is that when a person has only some friends, he has strong relationship with them. He can be sure that if he needs any kind of help, his friends will do their best to do this. On the other hand, the person who has got a great number of friends, he will not sure about this, because he does not all of them well. For example, when a friend of mine who has many friends asked for their help to move to another town. Only some of them which were pretty close to him helped him to pack his things and stuff.

Moreover, when a person has no a lot of friends, but only few, he can trust them more. Not all people are ready to tell all their secrets to other people. We choose only few of people whom we can trust. For example, I have got only two friends whom I can tell everything, and I will be sure they will not betray me.

To sum up, though there are people who prefer having a lot of friends, I support the idea that it is better to have only a small number of them, because you can have a stronger friendship with them, also, you will have enough time to spend with every friend, and one more important thing is that you can trust them more.