The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that the best way to solving environmental issues generated from consumer-generated wastes is to limit the trash accepted from every household. Environmental degradation is a crucial issue that needs to be dealt with as early as possible to avoid its further deterioration. Hence, putting a limit on consumer-generated wastes could be a prime move towards saving our Mother earth.

First of all: Plastic - a regular in everyone's household is a major reason for environmental problems. Although being non-biodegaradble, it is being used in variety of household stuff that includes cups, bottles, wrappers, bags, food-item packaging and so on. The limit on trash would help the curb the use of plastic. People would stop buying plastic products to avoid delaing with them later on. This, in turn, shall encourage the manufacturers to opt for other environmental-friendly materials in developing their products.

Secondly, there is a high amount of waste generated through food and vegetables. Peels, shells, leftover rotten food decompose easily and are a huge source of nutrition for plants. If in excess, people would have no choice but to plant more trees and use these wastes for composting; letting them open would not only emit foul smell but also attract insects, birds and rats — sources of various diseases. This shall encourage people to eat home-grown organic food instead of buying vegetables that are full of hazardous chemicals and pesticides and expensive as well.

Lastly, though a limit on the accepted waste would mean less waste generated from every household, there ought to be certain exceptions. Certainly a family of six would produce more amounts of waste than a family of four. The government needs to take this into consideration and should not provide the same limit to every household throughout. The limit should be in proportion to the number of members in the household so that the rule is not unjust for bigger families.

In such a manner, the need to avoid generation of excessive waste inside one's household would lead to less wastage of resources in the first place. It shall promote environmental awareness amongst people that shall urge them to live an environment-friendly life.