“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

On the first read, the author's explanation for the decrease of gastrointestinal disorders in Greenhorne due to Motilac seems plausible but giving some thought one can say that there can be other reasons due to which the decrease in the disease has been caused.

To begin with, the easing of digestive comfort in consumers of Motilac could be due to a balanced diet or exercise that they have been practicing and not solely due to the consumption of Motilac. In that case, the credit for the decrease in discomfort cannot be given to Motilac selectively. Also, the reason for which the residents are consuming more Motilac supplements is unspecified. It might have other benefits that are unlisted in the passage due to which people are buying the supplements. An increase in consumption over 80% over seven years is not indicative of total sales of the supplement and nor of its supposed use. People might be buying Motilac containing supplements for other factors in which it has been effective.

Moreover, the correlation between fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders and consumption of Motilac makes no sense whatsoever. The lower cases of these disorders could be due to various reasons such as increased water quality in Greenhorne, reduced intake of junk and spicy foods, etc. Also, the total number of hospitals in Greenhorne is not reported; hospitals other than those five could be showing a reverse trend in which case the positive effect of Motilac becomes unreliable.

Furthermore, the author points out the decrease in sales of Motilac in Etolin and correlates it to the rise of gastrointestinal disorder cases in the city. The reduction in sales could be due to the decrease in the supply of dietary supplements in Etolin because of which they are mostly unavailable in that region. In another scenario, if the supplements are still available, people in Etolin might have stopped consuming the supplement due to its inefficacy which directly contradicts the author's assumption. The reason for the increase in cases of gastronomical disorders in the region could be opposite to that in Greenhorne i.e. reduced water quality and increased intake of junk and spicy foods and not due to non-consumption of Motilac.

All in all, the author provides an opinionated explanation to persuade readers about the efficacy of Motilac against gastrointestinal disorders. All the evidence that supported the argument is too superficial and hence to draw a conclusion it needs more research and detailed information.