The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Some people believe that the best teaching strategy is ignoring inadequate behaviors, while praising the adequate ones. The ignoring strategy, however, assumes that children exhibit negative behaviors only because they crave adults’ attention, which might often not be the case. That is why, even though I fully agree that we should reward positive behaviors, I do not believe that ignoring negative ones is the best teaching strategy. To behave better in the future, children need to understand their mistakes and learn effective coping strategies that will help them handle their emotions.

When the teacher notices the child exhibiting inadequate behavior, the teacher should react immediately and explain why the given behavior is wrong. For example, if the student is caught calling other students names, the teacher should explain to him or her that words can be very harmful to other children and might elicit emotional distress. Then, the child is more likely to understand why calling names is wrong and should not be done in the future. If the teacher ignores this behavior, the child will probably repeat it in the future because he or she will not fathom how harmful their actions are.

Besides explaining why certain behavior is wrong, the teacher should also attempt to understand children’s motives. If certain behaviors come unnoticed, it might occur that some more serious problems are also neglected. For example, when a child is caught stealing, it might be because he is abused by his parents or their needs are not met because of the possibly bad family’s financial situation. In such an instance, ignoring the behavior not only does not benefit the individual whose things are being stolen, but it also does not help the wrong doer himself. The teachers’ duty is to take care of all their students and react whenever support is needed.

Even though, ignoring bad behavior might have terrible consequences, praising positive ones constitutes a good teaching strategy. The teacher should not only praise the student, but also explain to them why their actions were appropriate. Just like in case of bad deeds, understanding the action is key to effective learning. A good example would be a child who does not cheat on the exam even though they have an opportunity to do so. The teacher should let the child know that what they did is applaudable because they followed the established rules and behaved fair towards their peers. Then, the student will not only become more confident about his decisions, but he will also understand why repeating this behavior in the future is advantageous.

Ignoring negative behavior is not a good teaching strategy because it does not give the child opportunity to fathom his actions and motives. It also does not teach him coping strategies which is an essential skill for emotion control. At the same time, praising positive behaviors along with explaining their worthiness makes children feel good about themselves and encourages this type of positive behaviors in the future.