The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

What is the best way to teach? Is it teaching while only praising positive action? Or does teaching also require constant rectification of the negative action? This is a question that is at the basics of the teacher’s teaching philosophy. The prompt suggests that the best way to teach is by praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I don’t believe that the most efficient way to teach is by only praising positive actions, I also believe in the need for negatives actions which have their own set of benefits. In this essay I will explain my position using 3 points.

Encouraging students is an essential part of teaching. There is no sane argument with the view that adressing negative action has no place in education. For example, a student in class who is not doing very well academically might feel discouraged to work. He might feel that there is no use woring hard if he continuous to get low grades over and over again. This is a scenario where positive reinforcement can be helpful. At such a stage, it is necessary for the teachers to praise his hardwork so that the student still feels like he is getting recogition for his efforts, and that his efforts are not going to waste. Based on research, students who learn in an environment that praises their positve actions are much more optimistic and motivated in their studies.

However, it is not the case that only focusing on praising students will help them improve. In the very escence of learning is to fix your mistakes. So, if a student has some negative behavior that is detrimental to his growth, It is the teacher’s job to let the student know. For instance, In many scenarios there are many students who excel in most of their academic work. However, in certain aspects, like teamwork they lack- they might not be very friendly with their colleagues. In such a scenario it is essential that the student is informed about his shortcomings. Maybe, the student did not know about his unfriendly behavior. Letting him know gives him the opportunity to rectify his behavior. So this makes it essential to include revealing a persons negative behavior when teaching.

Not Ignoring negative actions is essential because every student has somes sort of shortcoming in their behavior that may be deterimental to their future career. For example, if a teacher only keeps praising her students’ positive actions it possible that the students become lethargic. They might start thinking they have no flaws to work on. This is quite opposite to what education is supposed to be. Learning and improving is not always fun because it comes at the cost of recognizing that no one is perfect. Teachers should supplement the students efforts by providing them with the necessary feedback for them to improve.

In conclusion, different teachers have different ways of teaching. It is not possible to give a one fit solution for all, different circumstances call for different strategies. However, I believe that teachers should include a variety in their teaching method such that they ensure that students remain motivated, while also learning about their shortcomings and working on becoming a better person. This is what makes including constructive critisism essential to learning.