The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

All of us might have heard the saying “Be contept with success and learn from your mistakes” in one way or another during your course of life. Appreciating your success or positive actions helps in happiness, thus giving humans reason to live. Similarly, learning from mistakes or bad actions help us to be a better version of ourselves in life. Both these are equally necessary in the process of teaching. So I strongly disagree with the recommendation that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Humans are emotional beings and have a tendency to get over-excited be repeated success. By praising all the positive actions, we unknowingly make the person over-confident and it could inturn make them self satisfied. Moreover, it could also lead them to perform positive actions only for the sake of the praise or the material benefit that get from it. We have seen several cases of parents teaching their children by offering them material gifts. For example, I observed this interesting scene in an English Web series, whereby a parent was offering his child extra iPad time for acting civilised in a public store. Such an action from the parent makes the child feel that he/she have to follow good behaviour only for the sake of the material gift.

Now considering tother aspect of the topic, we all have made mistakes at some point of our life. By ignoring the mistakes or negative actions, it create two important problem. First, it creates an impression that making mistakes is not acceptable. This inculcates fear, toxicity in minds of children. There is a survey by UNICEF, that showed that children studying under a strict environment are more likely to face mentak health issues as they enter adolescence than those who study in a casual and appreciating environment.

The second problem is that by not analysing ones mistakes, we are letting them forget their mistakes, thus repeating the same mistakes. For example, the best way to prepare for admission tests like GRE is by doing practice tests. With that we get to make mistakes and get a cance to learn from those mistakes, so that we do not repeat them in the actual tests. So it is always advisable to appreciate and learn from ones mistakes and negative actions, so that we so not repeat them.

Based on all this, I feel that the best way to teach is to appreciate positive actions and understand and analyse the negative actions. With this one could make the student the best version of them.