The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Different people tend to have a different opinion on how to teach, some people believe the best way to teach other people is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones, they believe through praising, people will reinforce their good behavior and do good things more frequently. However, according to my opinion, praise positive actions and ignore negative ones are not the best way to teach due to the following reason:

Firstly, ignore the negative behavior can also have negative impact, this is because feedbacks are extremely important for teaching and learning. Ignore someone’s negative action means that person will not got any feed back for his action, thus they are unable to realize what exactly he did wrong and unable to change their bad behavior. In my point of view, punish other’s negative action would be a more effective way teach, because it not only provide valuable feedbacks for students to evaluate themself, but also reduce student’s motivation on doing bad action because they might want to avoid punishment.

Secondly, overly praise the positive action will make people lose their internal motivation, or their own interest to do something, This is because providing too much reward will reshape people’s mind, make them believe doing good things is a part of work and they are doing so to exchange for the reward. Under this situation, they will not do any positive action unless they can get certain reward. One example about that is a famous psychology experiment, in the experiment some students are spread in to two group, and assign to a reading tack, in the first group research provide 5$ for each reading task and for the second group researcher provide 0.5$ for the reading task. The result of the experiment shows that when people got lots of reward for the reading task, they are less likely to do reading in the future, even for those who like to read.

Even too much reward might not be the best way to teach, however undeniably appropriate amount of praise can still be beneficial. By providing appraise to people’s positive action, people evaluate of their behavior better, and know what are the good thing they should do more. Further more for the people who lack of motivation, appraise can also serve as an extra motivation, encourage people to do more good things for the appraise.

In genial, we should not teach though praise positive actions and ignore negative ones, because it will make people unable to realize their mistake, and reduce their internal motivation. However, for the people who lack of motivation to right things, appropriate amount of praise can encourage them to do more positive action.