Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Different people tend to have different opinions about applying restriction on scientific research, some people believe science should not be regulate because it will damage “academic freedom” and will eventually inhibit innovation. However, according to my opinion, science should at least have some regulation due to the following reason:

Firstly, for the researches that have ethical issue, such as animal experiment and medication test, applying a restriction can minimize their abusive and unnecessary harm. By applying ethical standard, government can have the power to prohibit harmful study, and it force researcher to improve their experiment, make it less harmful to the participants. However, if there is not regulation experimenter will only consider their own convenience and ignore the feeling of participants, take Sandford prison experiment for example, before ethical standard of search are fully developed, lot of notorious experiment like Sandford prison experiment does not consider participants’ mental and physical health during the study, which make Many participants not only suffer irreversible damage when they take part in the experiment, they are also lack basic right such as right quit, ask question and know any information about study. This problem did not solve until government develop ethical standard for the research.

Secondly, government’s restriction can also guarantee public and researcher’s safety, this is because certain area, like biotechnology and chemistry can be significantly risky, if government do not tell researcher which direction they should focus, these most advance knowledge might be abused. Take nuclear physics as an example, nuclear is an extremely potential and dangerous subject that can both use to create valuable energy and dangerous weapons, if researchers use it to create nuclear bomb it can kills millions of people. However, thanks to the regulation among the world, nuclear physic is only use to create energy, which prevent a huge disaster.

Although it is necessary for government to impose restrictions on scientific research, excessive restrictions are still bad for the science, this is because too much regulation can slow down the scientific progress and innovation. The reason behind this is the develop of the science require study from diverse direction, and excessive regulation on the other hand will make scientific research only focus on few directions, which is bad for the science. Take my major psychology for example, psychology is a study of human behavior, which can influence by many factors, such as culture, physical condition, childhood experience and mental health. So in order to fully understand human’s behavior, scientist must have compressive understand on sociology, biology, and many other subject, and if certain subject is restricted by government, they are unable to fully understand psychology and develop advance theory.

Generally speaking, it is good for government to apply some restriction on scientific research and development because it can minimal the harm and dangerous, However, too much restriction might hinder the develop of the science because it eliminates diversity in scientific research.