The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“People often learn more from their failure than from success” is a very popular and well-founded saying. While it is essential to reward positive actions, it is equally important to point out the mistakes that a person makes. Otherwise, the process of learning will not bear much fruit.

The recommendation of the prompt posits that it is enough to only praise the positive actions and neglect or ignore the negative ones. Such a process of teaching will not enable learners to learn from their mistakes or failures. As human beings we learn from the cradle to the grave. It is crucial that we take note of our mistakes or actions that bring negative outcomes. Consider the case of a father and his child. If the child does not go to bed at the right time, then it is the responsibility of the father to remind his child about the benefits of going to bed early. If he ignores the child’s action of going to bed late, then the child will make it a habit which will in turn cause deteriorating effects on his health. From this simple yet powerful example we can gauge the result of ignoring negative actions.

Moreover, the teaching method recommended in the prompt can never be applied in the academic domain. For example, during scrutinizing the exam scripts of the students, if a teacher decides to only reward the student for his correct answers and neglect his wrong answers, then the whole examination process would be pointless. A survey report shows that if students are marked down for their mistakes, then their future performance improves at a much faster rate than when their mistakes are not graded down. This clearly shows the importance of pointing out mistakes during a learning process.

However, the given recommendation is quite suitable for learners who are low in self-confidence or are going through some emotional struggles. In such cases, the only way to motivate them is to praise them for their efforts and neglect any unsuccessful attempts. If someone tries to be to exacting in their teaching methods then such students or learners might become disaffected. This will not only slow down their learning process but it might also produce long term harmful effects.

In light of the above discussion, we can conclude that although in some cases it might be necessary to take the approach of teaching described in the prompt, it is usually not the correct method.