The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Scanning over the centuries of human history, we can find that in any civilization education is never a business of copying the knowledge from the teacher’s head into the learners’, instead, it is actually a business of how to cultivate a better generation in a efficient way. The education field never stops finding a better way to teach people, and some say that the best teaching approach is to give praise to positive actions and neglect negative ones. I mostly agree with such idea in following three perspectives.

First of all, praising is the most direct way to let the learner to realize the preference of such actions. This rule is so classic that it is applied to many fields, from training a pet to training an artificial intelligence. When the pet owner try to let his or her dog to learn some specific skill, they tend to give it some little prize, a piece of dog snack or a big hug, for instance, after it successfully performed the skill. Under such training cycle, the dog’s just relate the skill to a prize, and such relation just help it memorize the skill better. Besides, in the reinforcement training field, to train the AI to successfully pass the puzzles, a system of prize is quite popular: It calculate the score of every attempts, which can be understand as the prize for the AI. Such score can be made up of distance to the entrance, steps taken, etc. Intuitively, after a large number of epoch, the AI would definitely choose the previous route that scored the highest. In the end, the AI can learn how to get to the exit of puzzles. So when something needs to be taught, praising the positive action can never go wrong.

However, when it comes to the neglection of negative action, the strategy should be taken a second thought. If the negative action was noticed, and the educator punished the learner because of it, the interest and motivation of learning would definitely be given a sharp blow, which has negative effect on learning. In schools, where teaching most happens, to achieve a decent score, some students tend to cheat the exam or copy peer’s homework, which can be summarize as plagiarism. When teachers noticed such actions, they seldom ignore it because such actions have a bad effect on the students’ learning, but the evaluation result of teach and learning as well. As a result, the negative action should never be just ignored.

Considering it as a whole, such strategy does more good than bad, and can be optimized by filtering out those negative action that could be neglected and those should be taken seriously. Such difference exists might because every man kind are unique and possess different character and talents, so tolerance is needed to some extent. No wonder in the long history of education, every teacher is trying the best to reach a perfect balance in such dilemma.