The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

It is not uncommon for someone to argue that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore the negative ones. Proponents of the statement is that people who receives good words will be encourage to do the good deed. However, the action may also lead to some problems such as arrogance or self-confidence. In fact, I suppose it is better to teach students by praising and criticizing.

It is widely accepted that all people love to receive positive comment instead of the negative ones, not except for students. Praising student while ignoring the bad actions has many advantages. For the first thing is let student know what is correct and what is incorrect as when they do something right they will receive praise. However, it is difficult for educator to keep doing this action. To make things worse, if they do not praise students as usual, students may get confused with the standard of doing things great. For example, mom praised a kid for being honest last week, but she forgets to praise him this time. Consequently, kids have no idea whether it is a good behavior to be honest.

Another benefits is that praising students can be a approach to encourage them in order to promote the efficiency in school work or at work. However, when they receive too much praise, there will be an inverse effect. Since no one get in them way to do what they want to do as they don't get any criticism from others, they won't take other 's feeling into consideration and insist on what they are doing. Only praising without criticizing is a result of shaping arrogance and self-central spirit. Even worse, they will bully other people whenever others do something resist to themselves, which is obvious a bad influence for a harmonious society.

So how should people teach students? From my perspective, I think the best way is to both appraise them and point out what they have down wrong. Moreover, educating people in this way have plenty of advantages. First and foremost, not only do they know the positive actions, but also they understand the negative ones. However, some people will argue criticizing people may reduce their confidence which may make them desperate about what they have down. What's more, if they spare no effort in one thing, but turns out to contribute to a negative result. In this way, they will not dare to do a good deed next time. Although criticize people do have those side effects, it can make people recognize what is wrong and nurture their insistence to face challenge and failure. Only in this way can they receive a comprehensive education in order to build a healthy value system.

All in all, I believe teaching only praising the positive actions and overlooking the negative one is not a good approach. By pointing out both positive action and negative ones can help student build a healthy value system.