The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Scientists and researchers have been studying the most effective way of teaching for decades, and one of the most disputed topic is regarding how we should response to the positive and negative actions made by trainees. Some people hold the view that positive actions should be treated positively, by complimentation, and negative actions need to be treated negatively, by overlooking. Personally, in order to provide a comprehensive instruction, negative actions should not be ingored while positive ones are praised.

Feedbacks regarding both positive and negative things done are crucial for the trainee to understand a full image of the consequences. Providing complimental feedbacks can be an encouragement for the trainee to continuously stick to and improve the positive actions. For example, when we are training dogs to achieve a certain skill like shaking hands, catching balls, or pretending to be dead, we use rewards such as cookies, dog snacks, or whatever they like to eat. The logic behind this is that utilizing the dogs' desires as a hook is one of most effective ways to get them do what hosts instruct and to let them know they are doing the right things. Besides the advantages of giving positive feedbacks, it is also beneficial to provide warnings and guidence regarding the bad behaviors. For instance, it is a widespread issue that young students get addicted to video games, which could be considered as wasting time to a certain degree. Sometimes, students themselves could not realize the problem of doing so because their classmates, peers are doing the same thing. Thus, as parents or teachers, it is necessary to talk to them and let them know the effects and potential consequences of being addicted to video games, rather than to igore the situations. Giving feedbacks regardless of whether the actions are positive or negative is highly important in teaching.

On the contrary, we have to admit that under certain circumstances giving such feedbacks can have disadvantages as well. Even though complimental feedbacks does help the trainee in persisting the positive actions, it could be harmful if the trainee sacrifies the diversity. In China, a university entrance exam is extremely important for high school students, and the exam tests a few subjects such as maths, English, history, or chemistry depending on what category the students choose. A student who is proficient in a certain subject usually recives apprasals from either teachers or classmates, but it might cause the student to be fully devoted to the subject. If so, the student might lose the strengths in other subject or become even weaker, which does no good to achieve a higher score in the exam since it covers a few branches. On the other hand, paying excessive attentions to the negaive actions could disencourage the trainee from putting further efforts to conquer the challenge. One example that can illustrate this scenario could come from NBA matches. Apparently, players' status vary from time to time and matches to matches, it is common that a superstar player misses a couple of shots consecutively. In this situation, if the couch abusively criticizes the player for the shots he missed, the player might be diffident in the rest of games and dare not to shoot the basket. This can tremendously affects the result of the match since a superstar player has the ability to lead or turn over the game.

In conlusion, even though there are cases that prasing positive actions and feedbacking on negative ones can have disadvantages, the overall pros still outweight the cons. Generally, the best way of teaching should provide feedback on both positive and negative actions.