The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

According to this statement, it is advisable to praise positive actions and completely ignore negative actions when teaching others. Although I agree with the former half of this statement, the latter is no necessary true; therefore, this recommendation, as a whole, is not the best way to teach someone. When teaching someone—especially younger children—positive reinforcement is recommended. It encourages the student to act accordingly and follow instructions as well as foster trust in a healthy relationship. However, to completely ignore negative actions is dangerous because it can cause confusion and convolution. This can lead to immediate consequences that put people in dangerous situations or long-term consequences that develops into undesirable habits. Depending on the austerity of the situation, negative actions should not always be punished. That being said, it is critical that they are acknowledged and clarified. Unwanted actions should be clearly defined as negative.

An example of how such recommendation can be dangerous is in a setting where a risky or dangerous skill is being taught, such as driving. Driving seems like a mundane and common practice, but it is still a skill that requires our utmost attention and it involves the lives of many people—not just the driver. In such case, if the teacher does not note actions such as not stopping at a stop sign or accelerating over the speed limit, the student can easily put many other people in danger. This is a situation in which negative actions can be incredibly dangerous and must be immediately corrected. They do not need to be criticized nor ostracized, but they still need to be verbally explained about so such risky mistake are not replicated in the future.

Even in cases where the negative behavior might not have immediate or parlous consequences, it is equally important to clarify unwanted behaviors. For example, younger children often do stuff like biting their peers or going to the toilet at inappropriate places. This is due to lack of developed social skills. They are not intentional, but if someone does not teach the children that this is negative behavior, the young children might be confused and just continue replicating their negative actions, even without positive reinforcement simply because these actions are either enjoyable or convenient. They will continue to urinate whenever or wherever unless taught otherwise by society or their parents. They might continue to bite their peers because they think it is fun and without teeth, it does not yet cause harm. These two behaviors are not dangerous yet, but they can jeopardize the students in their future social interactions if they are not taught otherwise.

These are only two examples out of many others why it is significant to point out negative behavior. Communication is key in every relationship and interaction, including that of teacher and student. A teach should always give clear directions in a respectful way to their students. Although it is NOT always desirable to listen to reprehension or criticism, it is important. It is part of a person’s growth to understand their flaws and fix them in a healthy manner. In conclusion; it is not best to praise only positive actions and ignore negative ones. It is best to praise positive actions and correct negative actions through healthy and clear communication that can also support character growth.