Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Humans are volatile beings that vary widely in personality from individual to individual. That being said, social research is a field of study that requires more than just one type of experiment and more than one viewpoint to make an overarching theory. Even so, no theory can be definitive for the human nature. Therefore, the argument that interview-centered methodologies should be used to further investigate the nature of child-rearing in Tertia can be improved strengthen in several aspects.

Most of the data presented in an interview-based research, such as a survey, depend on how the questions was initially phrase. If the questions in the interview conducted by Dr. Karp were linking to or involving a parental figure, inducing the children to think of their biological parents; then the answers they gave were influenced by an outside variable rather than their own subconscious thoughts. For example, rather than asking “who is your favorite person within this entire village?” the questions could have asked “who is your favorite person in your family?”

In addition to this, it would be more beneficial for Dr. Karp if he identified the demographic of his sample and the sample size of his research. The larger the sample size, the more applicable his conclusions are to the general public. If he only conducted a few interviews, he cannot use this conclusion to describe the entire population or the general cultural of Tertia. Unless proven otherwise, the few children he has chosen for his research could have also been hand-picked from families that were outliers. They could have been wealthier, and the parents could afford to stay home more with the children or they could have lived further away from a village so their children had limited access to the more populated area; thus restricting the children to only interactions with their parents.

Another aspect that requires clarification on this research is the age of the children. Younger children are more fragile and thus, needs more attention from, and sometimes can be more attached to their parental figure, especially their mother. As they grow older and more independent, they can explore the village more and have the interactions and care from other villagers. If Dr. Karp chose to interview older kids, he may be able to get more description answers of the interactions between the villagers and the children. In contrast, if he were interview younger children, they would be more likely to speak about their mother, who should be the main caregiver at the young age.

To improve on the recommendation of interview-centered research methods, it is important to be clear about the demographics and size of the sample, including the age and background of the children. It must be proven that such method is done in a random manner so the data can be representative of the general population. Moreover, it is important that the questions asked in the interviews are written clearly, without bias, so there is no direction to one answer or another. These are the types of questions or concerns that must be answered before we can decide whether such a method is valid or viable.