The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Perhaps one of the most challenging tasks a human being can have, it the task of teaching or instructing another human being. This task is challenging for more than one reason. In addition to requiring mastering what is being instructed and a committed belief in what is being taught, teaching also involves dealing with the psychological nuances of an inherently diverse set of students; each with her own preferences, interpretations, and independent train of thought and each motivated by a unique understanding of the world. It therefore becomes difficult to advise on how one should go about this complex task of teaching and even more difficult to generalize and encourage a teacher to teach all students in a similar manner, without first trying to explore those individual experiences and preferences. Some think that to remain on the safe side, one should look to stick to praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones. After all, that serves to nurture their strengths and de-emphasize their weaknesses thus boosting an individual’s ego and self-esteem. Yet, it is easy to see wholes in this general strategy.

While it is true that highlighting and praising an individual’s positive attributes may increase the excitement of some individuals about them and encourage them to develop those strengths, this may not always be the case. Praising the math skills of a rebellious student, for instance, may sometimes increase their arrogance about them. It may mean that they would simply stop studying math and try to find ways to outsmart their exams. The praise may thus put them on a mission to prove the exceptional extent of their abilities in comparison to others. In doing so, they may easily start to fall behind. The disappointment associated with this failure may lead them to even more rebellion. Claiming the system is not for them. In the end, despite having praiseworthy abilities, the ego resulting from all the praise can blind the individual into failure. Of course, not all students would react this way. But some would, and it’s important to adjust one’s approach to those different scenarios.

Similarly, while it is true that ignoring ones negative attributes instead of highlighting them, may do well for their self-esteem, not every student needs that boost in self-esteem. Some may be only child’s who have grown with the complete attention of two spoiling parents. Those students, like that rebellious math student, do not need a boost in ego. In fact, a critical eye at their less positive traits may do them some good. Highlighting the possible results of the inflated ego of our math student would likely do him some good.

This brings us to the final point, this strategy assumes that it is healthy and beneficial for a student to develop one strong trait and neglect others. While it is true that a math professor relies heavily on his math skills to achieve success in his professional life, he will do himself no good if he got died at the outset of his career from obesity and a sedentary lifestyle. He will constantly fall short if he never developed the discipline necessary to excel in life and his career. Going back to our math student, even if his reaction to praise was positive, the fact that he was never told he needs to work on his ego, or social skills, will take him nowhere in life.

Overall, it is important to note that people are different and that they are very likely to react differently to different approaches. An ideal instructor would always put that in mind, personalizing his approach to every individual he wishes to instruct and guide through life. Praise may work with some, but it may backfire severely with others.