SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that SuperCorp choice to move from Middlesburg to Corporateville is wise because the latter has experienced a surge in the number of homeowners, is less urban and thus appealing to employees, and has lower taxes. As stated, the argument is based on a number of assumptions that render it rather weak. The author is advised to makes some key clarifications in order to make the argument more compelling.

The first assumption states that if an employee survey says that employees generally prefer living in urban areas, then all the employees living in Middlesburg want to move to a less urban area. However, it is unclear how that question was phrased. While it is true that the employees may prefer to live in an urban area, they may not actually want to move to one at the moment, losing thier current homes and forcing their children to change schools. In other words, a reliable survey would be a survey would be very specific in its questions, especially when dealing with such a life changing topic.

In fact, the argument seems to assumet that the employees are moving with the company, are they? Or is the company laying off some of its employees to go to a more affordable area? In that case, the decision was clearly not the best one for the employees of the company. As for the company itself, the cost of training new employees and moving indispensible ones should be put into account when evaluating the decision. The argument thus needs to expand further on what it is doing with its current employees, how costly the move is in short run, and whether that would pay off in the long run.

The fact that overall taxes are lower does not necessarily mean that the area is cheaper, especially not for employees. For instance, it is unclear whether those taxes are business taxes, income taxes, or sales taxes. While lower income taxes may be cheaper for businesses, it does not necessarily make life much cheaper for employees. Similarly, low income taxes when juxtaposed with a high-end area with high inflation doesn't necessarily entail that life expenses will be cheaper. To improve the argument, the information provided on taxes should be clarified further and combined with some additional economic indicators that clearly demonstrate whether Corporateville is actually cheaper.

Overall, the argument makes some rather questionable assumptions about the employees and the economic wellbeing of the Corporateville. Those assumptions should be strengthened with better data and more reliable premises.