The best way to teach—whether as an educator, employer, or parent—is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Positive reinforcement, in whatever sphere of life we may be considering, is always an ideal approach to discipline. Praising positive actions of subordinates would encourage continued exhibition of good behaviour. this stance i completely agree with, however, while ignoring negative actions may work well in certain instances, it may not always bode well for all involved.

As a parent, especially one parenrting a toddler who might just be learning the concepts of boundaries and how far they can stretch them, sometimes the better route to take in instilling discipline is to ignore some of their negative actions. Say for instance, the child hears a bad word and repeats it in the presence of the parent, ignoring the child, as opposed to having a knee jerk reaction and yelling a firm "no", might lead to the child losing any interest in ever repeating the word. they may have use the word only to amuse their parents and if they fail to get th desired reaction, they move on to something else. one might argue that ignoring the undesirable behaviour exhibited in this situation is less than ideal, as the child may be wont to do it again. But the altertniaves of instilling discipline, by yelling a sudden barrier between parent and child and hinder future communication.

In a work environment, however, this method would definitely encourage levels of unforseen levels of insubordination. Ignoring a member of staff who is perpetually unpunctual or who constantly slacks off at work, would do no good in increasing their productivity. This could further encourage other employees to follow suit if they realise there are no solid consequences for their actions or inactions, whatever the case may be. Enforcing disciplinary action after a verbal warning would, therefore, be an ideal way of handling such a situation.

encouraging positive actions works well in any given situation but it is always in the best interest of the superior - be it an educator, employer or parent- to take a more nuanced approach in applying negative reinforcements, as what works well in one situation may lead to an undesirable result in another. In short, each case should be taken and handled in and of its own merit, when it comes to negative reinforcement.