"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

The author claims that a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitble and there is guaranteed monopoly on the jazz music market in the said town, based on the arguments that the nearest club is a significant distance away and a festival recently had over 100,000 people in attendance. To determine if these points are truly credible, some important facts need to be examined.

The first important question one needs to ask is whether or not the jazz club 65 miles away is really profitable? Is there evidence to substantiate this argument? if not, the validity of the premise of this conclusion is put into question. was a study done to prove that the Monroe residents made up a significant amount of festival attendees? If not, what facts do they have to stand on the argument that Monroe residents have any collective interest in that genre of music to begin with? The presence of jazz musicians in the town has no bearing on the interests of the other residents in their music, the artistes could merely have been seeking quiet solace in a little-known town; one wouldn't know unless they were asked and it was confirmed that their choice of town of residence was greatly influenced by the location of their most avid listeners. This is highly unlikely.

Was any research done on the history of earlier clubs in the town? If so, was it found that the prospective club, C-note, would be the first ever of its kind in Monroe? If not, whatever caused any previous clubs of such nature to shut down? if low attendance had anything to do with that, then the author might need to reconsider his stance in the argument.

The per-capita income of Monroe residents would surely give an inkling to the spending capacity of the town's population. The argument that jazz lovers nationwide are able to dole out a thousand dollars per year on jazz entertainment does not automatically translate. One would need to examine that study at more grassroots levels to discover how Monroe residents contribute to that figure. It is not safe to assume that they can afford to spend as much as residents in bigger cities who may have more earning power and relying on this position, hurts their argument.

Without substantiated evidence to back up the lofty claims made by the author, the argument is bereft of critical foundations.