Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim reported suggests that an action should be considered moral if the benefits deriving from it overweight its drawback. The evidence on which this thesis relies is that, generally speaking, the results of an action are much more important than the action itself. As far as I am concerned, I tend to mostly disagree with the statement since the morality is a too wide concept to be reduced only on the effects of our behavior.

First, it is not always true to affirm that if the results of an action are positive for someone, so the action should be positive as well. Suppose, for instance, that someone decide to go against the law in order to help one of his closest friend without damaging anybody. Of coursethe benefits of what he has done will be greater than the bad result , but this reason is clearly not enough to start considering it a moral action. In fact, a more complex reasoning should be done, involving not only the effect that the single action have on the environmentin which it has been done but also the effects that this action would have if every member of this environment would do that. All this is to say that it is almost impossible to judge the morality of an action just by looking at its direct effects, and , thus, a wider view is obviously needed.

In addition, the results of an actions are not the ones to be praised when talking about morality. That happens mainly for two reasons. On one side, sometimes people do action with positive results for chance. For example, if someone's intentions are bad and than because of the situation he is influenced to do an action with positive results, it should not be praised as a moral one. On the opposite side, people who have positive intentionssometimes lack the courage needed to put it into action. However their positive moral attitude will emerg sooner or later and, meanwhile, their moral thoughs can have benefits on others. For these reasons, the morality involves more the intention of people than what they put into actions, since the former lasts longer than the ladder and it is what can really make the difference in society.

In conclusion, the concept of morality should be consider in a wider way and should not involve only the consequences brought by practical action. On one side of the argument, many actions with positive results are anything but moral and, for this reason, they should not be praised just for their temporary benefits. On the other side, the moral actions are the ones that affect the general attitude of a society and, for this reason, the real results can be seen just after a lot of time.