Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

It is safe to say that for most things in life, for something that is short and sweet rather than long and drawn out is a much more pleasant experience. The claim that those in positions of power, regardless of the field, should step down after five years has sound reasoning, in regards to that new leadership can bring innovative ideas to the field. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this claim and the reasoning behind it. Those in positions of power should step down after five years, to make room for new leaders and subsequent further success in those fields. This essay will delve into two reasons why this claim and reasoning is of solid ground.

To begin, those who are in any job or position for too long are susceptible to the very real effects of burn out. As those positions that are most powerful are most often the positions that are most stressful, this stress could have an effect on even the most even-handed people. For example, the President of the United States is, by law, only allowed as President for eight years, and this only happens if a second term is won after four years in office. This law ensures that someone who is making calm, rational decisions at the beginning of their time in power does not slowly give in to their stress and the onions of others, and make rash and harmful decisions as time goes on. The stress a President has each day, could only possibly be managed for a certain amount of time, before they either intentionally or unintentionally let their burnout start making the decisions for them.

Further, any field needs reinvigoration every so often with new people, ideas and innovation. If the same people in a field are in power for long periods of time, it is less likely that the field will demonstrate growth and the evolution necessary to keep the field relevant and afloat. For example, if a Principal is in the same school for a long period of time, they could be stuck to their same ways and opinions, and not allow the ever-changing times to influence any of their decisions. However, if every five years or so a new Principal took charge of the school, it would be like a breath of fresh air, compared to the same old recycled, stale air blowing through the halls. New people lead’s to new ideas, personalities, and excitement.

Some might argue that those in positions of power are the most knowledgeable in their field and should therefore not be forced to resign after so many years. Although this is a valid point, it should be noted that time and experience is not the only indicator of knowledge. In fact, those who are in positions of power might be less trained or aware of any new laws, or regulations in their field, compared to those who have been preparing to take over for a while.

In conclusion, those who are in a position of power should step down after five years in order to not let the effects of burnout influence their decisions, as well as to let some new “blood” into the field that could lead to innovation and creative ideas.