Claim In any situation the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments Reason Facts are objective so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals

Facts could mean those things which have been proven with supporting data that have been statistically analyzed using various methods over a period of time. This data which are processed can then be used to provide information or draw conclusions about various observations. This prompt claims that the best way to persuade someone is by providing them with facts and statistics instead of engaging in emotional arguments based on the reason that facts are objectives so they are more persuasive than subjectives. This line of reasoning which the claim is based on is one that I choose to agree with for two reasons.

To begin with, facts when backed up with statistical data, provides a pragmatic explanation of observations, experiments or events. It provides an analytical and pellucid way to present details by breaking down how data is collected, processed and generated into usable information. This information can then be used in backing up an idea, a point of view or an argument. For instance the product team of an organization may want to persuade the board of the company that investing huge amount of money in the new product design will be more profitable to the organization. The team would definitely not be able to persuade the board by just stating that because they like the product, then customers will like it also.

The team can create a prototype of the new product with its proposed features and provide a feedback system through which they can capture what items users of the product use the most, and the least used ones. They can further capture if any of the proposed new features were used, the team can also conduct a survey to know the age group of users that uses the new components the most, and what their experience was when using them. The data from the survey, is then sorted based on the parameters tested in the survey and analyzed using various statistical methods. At the end of the analysis, the product team now has enough information or details to back up their calm. They could state that from the prototype tested, over 80% of users liked the new features introduced and as such they are confident that users will definitely want to buy this new product because of the newly introduced components. Since this data was sampled on actual users then the new product, if funded by the organization will be a profitable one when released. With this fact gotten from the analysis of statistically collected data, the team can easily persuade the board to invest in the new product with a guaranty of return on investment (ROI).

Furthermore emotional argument could be based on cynical motives. It might be based on personal interest, what the person stands to gain and not a true reflection of the real world. Still referencing the illustration of the product team and their proposal for investment on their proposed new product, without providing facts the team may try to persuade the board to invest in the new product because of their own personal gain knowing fully that the new product will not be widely accepted by end users. If the board should fall for this bait then they will have to count their losses. By providing data sampled from a wide range of end users, the board can be convinced further that investing in the product will be a profitable one, because the information provided is a true reflection of the real world end users and not that of the product design team alone.

It is therefore easy, to persuade a person using facts rather than engaging in emotional arguments which could be for cynical motives, because when facts are presented they represent a reflection of the real world and they also provide an analytical and clear insight to ideas and arguments.