Claim When planning courses educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students Reason Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying Write a response in which you discuss the exte

We learn on a daily basis, and most of the time we are keen on our various areas of interest. The things we evocate the most are those things that fascinate us. This prompt claims that in planning courses, the interest and suggestions of students should be taken into account, because students tend to learn more when they are interested in what they study. This line of reasoning is one that I definitely agree with for two reasons.

To start with, our interest transcends to our output or productivity. This means that when we are interested in what we do, we tend to put in our very best, thus resulting in increased productivity, and when we have a hackneyed feeling to what we do then our productivity tends to a decline. For instance if the results of an examination conducted for students showed a massive failure amongst majority of the students, then it is pertinent to know the reasons for such poor performance. A feedback from the students will help know the probable cause of the decline in their performances. This decline may be as a result of the way the course is taught; the students may love the course to have visual illustrations, rather than just a verbose of words. To majority of the students, having a pictorial illustration will be more fun, and the concepts will be easy to comprehend, since they can easily relate the text within the course to the pictures they see. This no doubt will elicit student’s enthusiasm to the course, thereby increasing their interest and motivation to learn. Without this feedback, it will be difficult for the educators to know the reason for the massive failure.

Furthermore, students activeness and interest to a course while in class, depends on the learning approach it takes, either passive or active. To buttress this point, students in a class may feel bored whenever a particular course is taught. This can be attributed to the approach of teaching the educator takes. The tutor might use a passive style when teaching with little or no inputs from the students. This can result in lack of concentration and interest in the course. For instance a topic in chemistry that is about complex chemical reactions like CO2 combustion with no corresponding laboratory session may seem ambiguous to students participating in that course. This will definitely make them lose interest in the course and lead to reduced study effectiveness. Therefore to relish student’s attitude towards the course, the educator needs to engage them to know if they will love to have a practical session for the course. This response will go a long way in helping the tutor plan the course, knowing that course participants would be more interested in it.

While it can be argued, that it is not possible to include every student’s interest or suggestion in planning a course, I strongly believe that sampling interests and suggestions from a large range of students will definitely help course creators in developing successful courses.