Claim: the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The author of the issue claims that the best way to confirm an argument is measuring its ability to convince another one with a different point of view. The author states that discovering the value of an idea needs serious debates, so the only way to confirm an idea is defending it against doubts and opposing views. I can agree neither with the claim nor the reason because I think both of them is a misconception.

For my first reason, I point out the main purpose of an argument. An argument reveals a solution to a problem, so we should analyze the effect of an argument to its problem not test its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. For example, consider an argument about air pollution that suggests people using electronic cars rather than gasoline cars. One with a different point of view says that it is no difference between electronic and gasoline cars in polluting air. The amount of carbon dioxide enters the air is equal in both cases because the amount of carbon dioxide produces to create electricity is as much as gasoline cars reveal to the air. This is not a good reason for validating that argument, so we may experiment argument in a real situation and find the precise effect of using electronic cars.

Another problem with the claim is the word "best". I think there is no best way to test an argument. Any suggestions about the validation of an argument only show some parts of a real solution. For example, my suggestion about analyzing and examine the argument in the real world only shows some parts of the validation process of an argument. In this process, we should consider the effect of other unwanted events to the result, so there is no "best" way to test an argument.

As I mentioned in the introductory paragraph, the reason for the claim is truly a misconception. The reason for the claim is one of the ways to validate an argument, but not a very good way. Assume someone who has great knowledge about something and can convince anyone in this field. This person can defend truly about any argument in this field with his/her extent knowledge. No one can argue with this person. I think there is no only way to discover the value of an idea. It depends on the situation, so we should consider a lot of variables to find the value of an argument.