Claim: the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The author of the issue claims that the best way to confirm an argument is measuring its ability to convince another one with a different point of view. The author states that discovering the value of an idea needs serious debates, so the only way to confirm an argument is defending it against doubts and opposing views. I can agree neither with the claim nor the reason because I think both of them is a misconception.

For my first reason, I point out the primary purpose of an argument. An argument reveals a solution to an issue, so we should analyze the effect of it to its problem, not test its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. For example, consider an argument about air pollution that suggests people using electric cars rather than gasoline cars. One with a different point of view says that it is no difference between electric and gasoline vehicles in polluting the air. The amount of carbon dioxide enters the atmosphere is equal in both cases. The amount of carbon dioxide produces to create electricity is as much as gasoline cars reveal to the atmosphere. This viewpoint is not a good reason for validating that argument, so we may experiment this in a real situation and find the precise effect of using electric cars.

Another problem with the claim is the word best. I think there is no best way to test an argument. Any suggestions about the validation of an argument only show some parts of a real solution. For example, my advice about analyzing and examine the debate in the real world only shows some parts of the validation process of an argument. In this process, we should consider the effect of other unwanted events to the result, so there is no "best" way to test an argument.

As I mentioned in the introductory paragraph, the reason for the claim is indeed a misconception. The reason for the claim is one of the ways to validate an argument, but not a very good way. Assume someone who has excellent knowledge about something and can convince anyone in this field. This person can defend indeed about any argument in this field with his/her extent knowledge. No one can argue with this person. I think there is no only way to discover the value of an idea. It depends on the situation, so we should consider a lot of variables to find the value of an argument.