claim: The emergence of the online blogosphere and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim states that the emergence of social media has debased the quality of political discourse in the United States. This claim is based on the fact that even the least informed citizen can publish political opinions now, and thus, the overall quality of information will decline. I agree with this claim because of two supporting evidences to the reason stated.First of all, since social media is accessible to everyone, even the people who do not know anything about politics can claim themselves as experts in the field and start stating an opinion that is in no case informed. For example, a person who does not understand the principles of economics can easily publish a post discussing the shortcomings of a political decision concerning the country's economy. However, the lack of knowledge that the teenager posesses will ultimately lead to a debased and most likely unfounded opinion, making it unvalid and lowering the overall quality of political discourse. Secondly, the role of social media in politics has become increasingly important, but unfortunately not for the intended reasons. Social media influencers now can change the outcome of a political decision or an election because of their fanbase. For example, if a greatly admired person, such as a famous actor or a sportsman supports a political cabndidate, there are high chances that the people who commendate him will vote for that same candidate, solely based on the their favorite superstar's opinion. This impedes people to get interested by actual political issues and opinions, and make them rely instead on the opinion of superstars. Again, this evidence supports the claim and leads to the absence of criticism in political views. Nevertheless, the claim contains a major flaw. It does not laud the fact that the access to social media is allowing the United States to escape the narrow view of what official media conveys, and instead gives an opportunity for frequent and more complex political discussions. Social media lets people from different backgrounds, jobs, views, interact with each other and discuss actual issues. Indeed, a political debate only composed of politicians will most likely be different than a political debate composed of artists, sportsmen, CEOs, etc. Debates on the internet can actually convey a broader vision than classical political discourse. However, it is important to bear in mind that these discussions on the internet should be taken with a grain of salt, and used to supplement a political idea from experts. With the rise of social media, the quality of political discourse in the United States is set to decline. Even with the diversity of opinions that one can collect from the internet, the fact that the information provided by experts in the field and average citizens is regarded as the same constitutes a major flaw in the quality of political topics found online.