Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Since the dawn of civilization, human beings have been paving the ways to ensure the rhythms and orders in every endeavour. As gregarious and the only intellectual type of creature, people of ancient Greece came up with the concept of "Democracy' where the participation of all the members of a society was necessitated by the law. Aristotle aptly opined, " Man is a political animal." This idea of politics as a means to govern the people of a state and a society is what separates human beings from other creatures. With the advancement of intemet and various smart devices, people can now write their opinions and observations as "blogs", hence the culture of "blogosphere" has been in the trend nowadays. The situation of politics in United States in recent years seems to be affected by this culture for a litany of reasons. The affectations seem to have a vehementi negative connotation, albeit the effects are not always pervasive.

Human beings are gifted with the ability to think cogently, as a result of which humans are merely opionated beings. Even 20 years ago, it was incoceivable to dessimate one's opinion from the comfort of his/her home about the nuances of an election race. In this day and age, opinions are just a click away. Anyone can write a blog about how he/she is favoring a particular candidate as the state governor because of the promises and executions over the years. It is understandable how this sphere of personal blogs that elucidate political discourse may affect the overall quality. Myriads are blogs are run by someone who is not a trained politician or journalist or a major in political science. As a result, they lack the knowledge about the nuances of the flow of discourse and resources that are at stake. The standards and benchmarks for covering news and political topics may go downhill, although this gorwing online participation demonstrates what and how people are thinking about politics.

With growing online participation in political discourse comes the responsibility of fact checking and verification. Confirmation bias always plays a role while choosing sides and favoring a circumstances, and that goes for US election too. A lot of the times the discourses get skewed from these biases, for which one stay vigilant and make sure to turn to other reliable sources. It is a Herculian task no doubt, and the question of quality is at play here. Democracy thrives on the participation of people, therefore various quality checking and ensuring measure have to be devised to ensure pellucid political discourse.

The ever growing culture of blogopsphere begets the question, "Does every opinion matter?" Well, it's subjective and United States is a free country where rights of free speech is heavily advocated. Till the fact and source checking system is not devised, it probably is wise if online political disourse culture is carted in some ways without violating anyone's rights. Numerous times there are real possibility of spreading vitriolic cannards about a political body or a group which may mislead people. People often times do not think about the consequences of their words which dampens the quality of discourse in the long run.

In a nutshell, it's a slippary slope when participaltion of people are breaking barriers in the quotidian and also introducing never before seen qualms. It is definitely not straightforward, and therefore, there have to be number of ways to mitigate these qualms and safeguard the sanctity of the political discourse of the United States.