Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably

Technology has brought the world closer.Internet is the latest addition in closely knitting the world together.The author claims that due to emergence of online"blogosphere" and social media the quality of political discourse in the United States has weakenend. I completely disagree with the author as he has considered the negatives of the situation forgetting about al;l the positives it has brought to the political situation.

In early days, citizens especially youths usually did not care much about the political situation of the nation and were not interested to know and express their views of the political discourse.But with the advent of internet and what the author has described as "blogosphere" and social media ,people are taking interest about the politics going on throughout the nation or moreover in the entire world. Even though if it is a latest fad among people,it is helping people to make smart decisions during election.

The United States is free country and everyone has the fundamental right to express his/her opinion,be it through social media and any other medium. Sharing of opinion between individuals helps people to interact, share their views about the candidates which inturn helps the political environment of the country. The ever existing news medium plays an importnat an important role here to shape people's opinion by providing correct facts and figures so that they can use social media to their newly built opinions.

This helps in a conducive environment during the elections as even a small mistake can be deletrious to the candidate as internet is active 24/7 and politicians are also under constant scruitny of the social fanatics. But all said and done,there are definately some detrimental effects of news reporting by the social media.As everyone can report or publish his social opinion to a vast audience , people take advantage of this by fallocious reporting of the rival candidate which can furthur lead to riots and political tension.

As already mentioned, the emergence of online reporting has added an exciting new angle to the political discourse of the nation by involving as many people as possible. But as anything it can also be used by anti social elements to create tension during political time ,so viewer and reader discretion should be maintained.