Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The dreams which we saw with our open eyes, define the direction of our efforts and energies in our lives. Blindly following a destination does not mean it will worth something good for ourselves or for the overall society. A person should put more thought into the target before starting the journey in that direction because eventually, ends matters a lot.

Most of the time, people have dreams which are limited just to their self and they are less related to the betterment of society. This approach towards life causes many social and personal problems sometimes, like depression or disappointment etc. The reason is, humans are social animals and we are related to each other. We seek help from each other when we feel alone and afraid.

Another benefit of focusing on choosing worthy goals is the journey attached with those goals, if a person has some purposeful goal, he or she will get so much help from mental peace, inner satisfaction and appreciation from society while trying to achieve those goals. People always have a positive attitude towards positive things. Those who have common positive and welfare destinations tend to help each other more than those who are self-centered.

Other than having a selfish dream, it is in the human psyche that we do better on tasks that match with our interests and personalities So it is really important to choose a job/profession that we end up enjoy working with. People who blindly follow their dreams without focusing on the end results end up with living a purposeless life.

In conclusion, having a dream in our lives is important, but having a meaningful way and destination is more important than that dream. Young generation should be guided in the right direction, not just in any direction that they fell charming and will make them famous and wealthy.