Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based

It has been claimed that even though young people are advised to follow their own dreams they should pick worthy goals because many people's dreams are selfish.

I do not particularly favour the claim made.Young people are often advised to follow their dreams. This should be unconditional enough for them to select their dreams according to their predilection.Young minds are the most innocuous and inspirational.They know exactly what they want to do. I am of a strong opinion that dreams and goals should be based on one's inherent interests and passions, irrespective of the measure of their worthiness.

For example if Michael Jackson had not followed his dreams of becoming a dancer. And would have just followed the path of a regular 9 to 5 job he would not have achieved the success he did following his passion and dreams.He would not have been remembered today as an incredible world famous dancer. If Sachin Tendulkar would have given up on his dream of becoming a star cricketer he would not have achieved the milestones and success he has achieved today.I think it is very important for individuals to follow their dreams irrespective of how worthy or unworthy their dreams appear to people. They say "The sky is the limit!" This is exactly what applies to our dreams too.

It has been stated that many people's dreams are selfish. Although this is not completely true.It might hold some truth for some people.For example some venal politicians have megalomania. They are not satisfied with what they have and don't keep the society's interest before their own.They use all their means of achieving their dreams by malpractices which in turn affect and pollute our society.Such selfish dreams are definitely not worthy and are in fact harmful for the society at large.So in such cases it is true that people should follow worthy goals and dreams. Dreams should enrich your own life also enhancing and ameliorating the lives of people around us.

To conclude I do not agree to the claim made that people should pick only worthy goals. As sometimes satiating self interests and working for your own happiness is an important pursuit of life. Following one's own passions and dreams only adds to the quality of life and success of an individual and boosts him in working towards his goal. But it is also true that dreams and goals should not be very selfish and self centered and should accrue towards improving and enhancing the society at large.