Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that young people while they are following their dreams, they should place emphasis on dreams with worthy goals because many people dreams are for the benefit of them only. I strongly agree with the author and would further bolster my viewpoint in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the world is a better place today in terms of technology simply because the inventors had no selfish dreams. For example, the Wright brothers never had a dream to invent air mean of transportation for themselves and the Wright family only. Their was to provide a thing that can transport people from one place to another in the air. Which is what virtually everyone is using today in the world. Consequently, it is pretty obvious they had worthy goals.

Admittedly, picking a dream is that seem selfless can be daunting. This is true especially when it comes to academics. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that.

In sum, as the author rightly claim young people should be advised to choose dreams with goals that every one can benefit from.