A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the introduction of a unified academic syllabus would be beneficial to the students before gaining university admission. Though a school of thought might argue against such a development and present a case of monitoring to know if it would be fully enforced by all stakeholders. Nevertheless, this is the right way to go in any serious Nation. Thus, I will generally agree with the opinion that every pupil should be trained using a common curriculum since it would foster healthy competiton and would make exchange programs possible.

First of all, a unified curriclum would encourage competition amongst schools across the Nation. I will like to point out that schools would be on their toes to make sure they produce the best students in the Nation. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the annual Cowbell National Mathematics competition in Nigeria. In this circumstance, obviously everyone is introduced to the same curriculum for the examination and the outstanding students in the contest are selected based on their performace level irrespective of the schools they represent. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that Student that have excelled in this competition must have been trained by the best and every parent strife to have their wards attend these schools.

Admittedly, the pedagogue to deliver the curriclum to the students must be on top of his game beacuse it would hinder the progress of the unified concept if the academics are not knowledgeable enough to deliver value to the pupils they are to train. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that a unfied curriclum is flawed. Because, with the appropriate reruitment procses for Tutors, training and availability of equipments to work with, these and other points would make sure that the unified curriculum is profitable to all parties concerned.

In conclusion, although the existence of custom-made curriculums might be permissible in the instance where the government is not fully involved in the educational system of its Nation, on the other hand, an active public sector would definitely make the unfied syllabus a great one.