Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in the city that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The author claims that it is the responsibility of the government to aid the major cities of a country with the financially they need in order to survive. While the claim is justified, the reason put forward by the author in support of the claim is not justified. The author states that government must provide financial support to the cities only to preserve their cultural heritages and traditions.

While it is necessary for the cities to preserve their cultural traditions, they should not be of foremost priority to the government. Instead, the government should provide their funding to their cities for more critical issues like health and hygiene, cleanliness, flyover construction, unemployment. These are the major problems faced by a city and the chief impetus of the government should be on funding these issues first. Preservation of cultural heritages and traditions should come later.

Secondly, preservation of a nation’s cultural traditions is not the responsibility of the government. It has been seen in the past that many private organizations take up the responsibility of renovating and preserving a heritage site as a part of their charity. In this way, they are not only keeping the cultural tradition alive but also dispensing their social responsibilities. Thus, corporate institutions led by eminent personalities like Bill Gates, Ted Turner should take charge of preserving the cultural traditions. Moreover, if any cultural site is made into a tourist spot and a minimal amount of money is charged from the visitors, then the amount of money generated from the visitors can be used for proper maintenance of the site. Thus, the cultural site itself takes its own care. Also, the preservation of a nation’s heritage is in part a responsibility of the residents. If they cherish their cultural virtues and keep them alive in their everyday life, cultural traditions are bound to be preserved. Leaving the responsibility solely in the hands of government officials can lead to a lot of bias, as any official will be inclined to preserve the traditions of their hometown and ignore other cities.

Thirdly, the author wrongly suggests that it is primarily in the major cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved. There are a lot of instances where a country’s main heritages are in its town or rural villages. Although the cities provide the centers for ‘high art’, the towns or rural regions should not be ignored. Thus, any government aid provided in the name of cultural heritage should be provided equally to its towns or villages.

Therefore, government assistance is neither mandatory nor necessary for promoting a nation’s distinct cultures. The government can do little in this regard and thus the job should be left to others.