College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

College Education is of utmost importance in each and every person’s life. While it is true that the courses taken up during college play a vital role in finding jobs later on, the selection of courses should not be based on the probability of getting jobs in future. Thus, I completely agree with the author that a student should pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

As Albert Einstein correctly pointed out that everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its entire life thinking it is stupid. Every person has an interest of their own. In today’s world, data science is an exciting topic and any jobs related to data science have been entitled as the hottest job of twenty-first century. Thus, students taking up courses related to data science will be more likely to get better jobs in future. But to be a data scientist one need to excel in statistics, mathematics and coding. A person having a more creative mind may find interest in literature and arts and find statistics and mathematics boring. If such a person pursues data science as a career, he will be killing his creativity and also might end up being unsuccessful in the field. It is quite likely that he will perform poorly in his academics which leave him with no job. Even if he manages to get a job, he might not perform well there and get ridiculed by his colleagues each and every day. This kind of negative attitude will not only lower his self-esteem but also kill his passion for literature and arts. Thus, a person should always follow his passion no matter what and success will find its way. The eminent cricketer Sachin Tendulkar dropped out of school after eighth standard to focus on cricket. Just imagine Sachin Tendulkar leaving his passion cricket and continuing his studies as it would help him get better jobs in future! The world would have lost one of the best cricketers of all time. While it is absolutely important for a person to get a job after college, a good job should not come at the cost of a person’s dreams. A person should not hold on to a subject or career that does not bring them any self-satisfaction or happiness. However, if a person forcefully takes up a course that does not interest them; he might lose all his motivation to come to college and study, thereby increasing the likelihood of dropping out. Thus, motivating students to pursue subjects of interest is absolutely necessary to reduce the dropout rate from colleges. Moreover, new discoveries and inventions are made when people from various fields of interest come together. Hence, it is absolutely necessary to encourage each and every field of interest, not only the ones are more likely to lead to lucrative jobs, to make a the world a better place to live.

Parents from an early age should become aware of the likes and dislikes of their children and encourage them to follow their interest. If a student has immense interest in a subject, he can easily make a career out of it. One has to work hard to achieve success in life irrespective of his career choice. Thus if one is not satisfied with his career choice, all his hard work will go in vain. On the other hand, if a person is enthusiastic in his work, he will climb the success ladder and his hard work will pay off. Therefore, parents and teachers should motivate students to pursue subjects that interest them.