Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is expected from a government to financially support the major cities of the nation, in order to preserve and generate a country’s cultural tradition. I partially support the argument that the government should ensure that the major cities receive adequate financial benefit. Every country’s leaders are responsible to keep the cities infrastructure and build upon it to provide more tourism attractions as well as financial opportunities for the cities. The government is also responsible to maintain the historical monuments and also build more history. However, sometimes spending money on one particular city will distract the leaders from helping the minor cities with their financial struggles.

The major cities have lots of potentials for improvement and glory, because they normally have a higher population. However, cities they can’t thrive to keep up with the population’s expectation If the government doesn’t provide adequate financial resources. A city needs universities, banks, libraries, and other governmental related institutions to support the ongoing intellectual growth of the community which will help to preserve the tradition and generate new culture. That is why it’s essential to the government to provide the least minimum financial requirements for it major cities.

Additionally, the majority of the main cities of a nation have many historical and significant monuments that played important role on forming a particular culture. These buildings need ongoing maintenance and care which will be impossible to do without the government financial support. For example, all the museums in Athens are considered as historical monument that each depicts a significant event in the history of Greece and helps to keep their culture and tradition safe. The Greece government spends lots of money each year to ensure that these important historical monuments are preserved to introduce the Greek’s old culture and tradition to the rest of the world.

Here therefore, having said all the reasons why I agree with the government financial support to the major cities, there are some people that will detract my argument stating. They believe that government shouldn’t spend more money on preserving the culture of the major cities because there are other cities in a country that might require more attention and governmental support. Sometimes when the government is not financially strong, spending all the money on one city will result in lack of resources in the other areas of the country and prevents other cities from developing and improving. But, knowing that this argument is still valid, I believe that the government should dedicate some amount of financial support to preserve and keep the nation’s culture and tradition, especially in the cities that the country originated from in the past.

All the major cities have played important roles on making a nation unique to the rest of the world. All the governments should have a plan to ensure preservation of the cities culture and tradition. This will help the government to introduce their culture to the rest of the work as well providing opportunities for generating new cultures and traditions for the future generation.