Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals play a critical role on grabbing attention and informing people on the current issues and problems in a particular setting. I partially believe that scandals are useful source of information that help people staying updated about the latest news and be able to draw conclusions about a particular evidence or event. Scandals can be especially helpful in countries with autocratic and tyrannical settings where the leader are trying to hide corruption from spreading on the medial. Also, for people, it is easier to follow up the latest news associated with scandals and enables them to make decisions based on the news. However, scandals can be deceptive and draw false conclusions about a particular story.

The autocratic leaders tend to hide corruption as much as possible so they can take advantages of lack of public awareness. We see this trend especially in tyrannical governments who limit the media and news to matters with lack of significance. This allows the authorities to benefit from lack of people’s information, and opens the doors of corruption. However, once the scandal finds its way to the media and television, it focuses attention and inform people. Scandals keep everyone updated about the latest news of deceitful leaders and false statements.

Scandals are also easier to understand and follow up compared to the everyday news since people have a tendency to attract drama and follow up the news associated with a particular event. It is especially exciting to follow the celebrities’ news and their latest scandals. This provide an opportunity for everyone to take a break from their chaotic life and distract them from everyday routine. That is why scandals are useful information and are highly possible to be followed by the majority of people.

Here therefore, having said all the reasons why I agree with the statement that scandals are useful information to grab public attention, there are going to be many people who will detract my argument stating and say that scandals are unnecessary to focus everyone’s attention. These people that scandals can be based on false statements and focus on ruining someone’s reputation for the benefit of others. They believe that scandals shouldn’t be taken seriously and must remain silent. But I would disagree with this argument, because I believe all the information, especially scandals, should be presented to everyone. It is our mere responsibility to draw the best possible conclusion and make decision about a recent event.

In sum, scandals are useful sources of information that helps media to grab attention and keep everyone following up the news that no one volunteers to talk about. I think it’s important to have some sort of method that keeps everyone in the loupe and makes sure people update themselves about their surrounding.