Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated

Government should exactly facilitate the financial support in major cities for their proper sustainment. Most of the people live in the major cities and it is the crucial place for economic and cultural development of the country. But it is not necessary that nation's cultural traditions are preserved and produced in the cities. So I am not fully convinced with the author's claim regarding his reason to state his position.

Culture and traditions are the identities of the nation and nationality. They constitute the important aspects of civilization and development in the nation since the early period. So their preservation is very important to preserve our identity and nationality. But it is not true these cultures are mainly preserved in cities. In times of modernization, people from different nation accumulate in city area and in that context; there is high chance of extinction of the old tradition and culture due to dominance of the foreign culture. For example; in major cities of developing country like Nepal, dresses of national identity like DAURA -SURWAL has been replaced by dresses like Coats, Tie, Pants due to westernization. Those old customs which are still the major dresses of population in remote areas are just worn by people in some rituals and festivals in city areas.

Cultural traditions are those which were handed to us by our forefathers. These remind us about our past and helps in the betterment of future. In the developed country, the author's claim might stand true. In developed country like USA, JAPAN, European Countries etc, vast majority of people live in developed cities and also people from foreign countries went there for job and settlement, sharing their own cultures and traditions. In this way, there is assimilation of culture which helps in generation of new cultural traditions. Special budget is allocated in those countries in order to preserve the old and new cultures. In developed cities, due to availability of resource and high awareness of people, culture and traditions are preserved and corrected in respect of time.

Many might argue that some of poorly developed countries like many African countries, we cannot find any developed cities and in some developing cities, they cannot allocate budget to preserve their cultural tradition. But in those countries, first of all, remote areas should be given priority. Majority of people live in the remote areas and culture and tradition are also born and preserved in pastoral region. So, government should bolster their financial status and allocate a substantial budget for their development.

In these ways, it is concluded that state should not only give priority to ensure financial condition of the cities area, but they should also underpin the economic condition and life style of rural area because rural areas are also the vast pool of cultural traditions where people struggle to preserve and continue those traditions.