To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In an era when majority of the population is residing in major cities of the world, studying these societies to get an overview of societies as a whole might sound relevant. However, as only the privileged and relatively well-off population can only afford to live in the cities, the fact that the major cities can aid in gauging the characters of society holds hardly true. Living conditions, culture of residents and every-day life of people vary widely between rural part and cities and generalizing the cities attributes can be highly misleading.

For instance, South Africa is one of the most unequal nations in the world. With most of the wealth of nation concentrated in higher class citizens residing in cities, rural people rarely get to enjoy the city way of life. Every day life of the people in rural parts of the country is markedly shaped by poverty they are mired in. The type of food people consume, the occupation they are engaged in and even the social structure, everything is shaped mostly by the place of their resident. So it is more than erroneous to describe the society located in the rural village of South Africa based on the study of Johannesburg, the capital, alone.

A month ago I got an opportunity visit one of the most rural parts of my country – Karnali province of Nepal where more than half of the population is well below national poverty line. I travelled from Kathamndu, the capital city, in the morning and reached my destination in the next day. When, a day ago, I was residing in sophisticated building of the capital with every needs and desires at my arms length, the next day I found myself in small hut where I could barely adjust my whole body and owner of house had difficulty even in managing the next day meal. What I found between Kathmandu and Jumla was the stark difference in everything from way of life, education level to problems that people faced. So, won’t it be a great error if we characterize Jumla based on the study of Kathmandu?

The proponents of the above argument might argue that the people residing in one country have similar cultural base and though they may differ in some aspects of life, this broad culture base makes up for these small differences. However, this argument doesn’t hold true in the countries where people may have totally different culture base let alone other economic and social aspect of life. For instance, it is totally irrelevant to generalize the character of societies of indigenous people living Papua Island of Indonesia based on the study of characters of Jakarta.

In conclusion, if we are to characterize the societies of a country we must include all types of societies. It would be unjust to study the major cities are characterize the whole country based on that.