Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

We are living in a era where everything is globally connected. Various culture comes in together to form a new one, so it become very hard to differentiate one country to another by culture. Where as cultural traditions are which discern a country from another, create their uniqueness as a nation. Therefore government should support financially to preserve cultural traditions; I agree this part with author, even though author raises few questions by his claim and reason. The first question is, whether only major cities must receive fund? And the second question is, are major cities that primarily preserve cultural traditions? Answer to the second question, will help to figure out the answer of the first one, is big cities are the representative of the nation but it is the villages and small towns where the culture is practiced. So the first question, villages and small towns should be the one to ensure financial support to keep the cultural traditions in practice. Thus the part that indicates receiving fund to major cities only would be an abortive try to preserve cultural traditions.

Major cities are base of the modern and advanced society of a nation, these are the constructive force that helps to build the nation. These cities represent the country to the world, thus they make the cultural tradition known to the world. However villages where these traditions originated, where these culture being practiced. Therefore, villages and small towns where government should focus their attention to. Origin area of culture should get equal financial support as major cities if not more. Cultural tradition practiced here in these places are purer than in cities, where culture from different nation mixed together and make archaic culture of the nation adulterate. Thus government should influence villages and small towns to preserve the culture and their unique existence.

Hong Kong is one of the major city in China. It is a financial center of Asia and also shopping hub of the continent. People from various country travel here for different purposes; thus, makes Hong Kong a hub of multi culture. There is no way to figure out that Hong Kong was a place where earn their lively hood by fishing around 150 years ago. The culture of Hong Kong diminish with time, become a modern city. This city represent China to the world, however it can not present the origin of China, their very own culture stays in the villages where most people are farmers. This example serves the idea that major cities not the only place where cultural traditions are preserved, rather small villages throughout country are the origin of culture.

To conclude, government should look into both cities where culture will be represented globally and villages where culture is originated and practiced. Since, government needs to balance the financial support so that city can represent the culture and the villages will be influenced to practice culture.