Claim : The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today's times.

Reason : Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

Education is the backbone of a progressing society. It is imperative that we know enough of how things function, which is possible with a defined system of education by the country. As things are not so seemingly straight forward or concerned with any single area of study, the importance of multidisciplinary education is stressed for a holistic approach towards problem solving. I believe that this importance is justified enough for the people to consider.

The career path pursued by us should lead to us being familiar to all the nuances related to the chosen line of work. However the incremental nature of any education system depends upon the familiarity of the issues encountered by the industry, which is also in ever developing mode. The more experience we gain, we realise that there is a connect between other fields, and so the education system updates itself. This has led us to the multidisciplinnary approach towards research approach. The systems are always trying to be specific towards outcome, but the education system requires a lot of time and effort to align with the needs of the society. As we are not prone to change, the confusion results in doubting the need of this multidisciplinary approach. Only time and efforts will allow us the required polished multidisciplinary approach even in education, that we so need.

Consider a case of an Architect, who's job is to built a house or any buildings for that matter. He needs to be familiar with multiple fields of expertise. He needs to know about the civil engineering aspects or structural stability; plumbing and electrical field in application for the building works, he needs to be familiar with the environmental requirements to orient the buildings according to optimum conditions for having efficiency, and most of all he need to be familiar with the laws and acts that regulate the development. Would it be enough for the Architect who is responsible for constructing a building to be familiar with just the aesthetical design? Of course not. The holistic approach is thus needed by every implementation level, and we need to familiarise ourself with other fields at least to know that we need them for the concerned expertise during the course of work.

One might argue that the multidisciplinary nature of our education is overrated. This because the time required to gain knowledge of every field is never enough; that the education being provided for that field of study needs to be more specific and not bifurcated further. Or because we need not be jack of all trades and master of none, to establish our place in the society. But, we have students opting for higher studies now, more that ever. The lower fields indeed are required to be multidisciplinary, for the student to realise his liking or interest for choosing his specific area of study. But the higher levels of study too need to include the linkages with other fields for a holistic knowledge. That is exactly why research in nature is termed as multidisciplinary.

In conclusion, it is the perspective with which we look at the problem for solving that matters. Being too focused to not understand the solution, will not help. Change is evident and we need to be prepared for it!