Claim: It is no longer possible for a siciety to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anupne who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response on the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Heroic acts deserve to be rewarded, admired and inspirational. Recognising contribution made by heroes to the world, stirs a sense of motivation in the rest of society to learn and practice the act of giving back. However the fame of heroism comes with the downfalls of publicity, which do not spare those that have made meaningful contributions to the world.

The claim states that there are never any true heroes in the world as those who are publicised as heroes eventually fall prey to the scrutiny that comes with the media. Media scrutiny comes from 2 sources, one source is the media outlets that scrutinize every shadow of an individual's character to create false narratives in order to stir their audience's attention. These accusations become the fascination that the people pay attention to rather than the heroic act performed. Similarly, the notion that "no one can be that perfect" leads to members of society questioning whether heroes are as good and clean as they seem. This creates a similar fascination with possible faults, resulting in the avertion of the public attention from the heroism meant to inspire.

I do not completely agree with the claim that heroism is often diminished by media scrutiny as in the case of Mother Teresa. Although till date her name revered and used in the context of kindess, critics claim that she would let patients suffer needlessly and that she would maintain close relations with dictators. These rumours have cast a shadow upon her character, however we still learn the lesson of kindness from her.

Similarly Mahatma Gandhi, who fought for India's freedom from British rule. Despite his inspiring non-violence approach to freedom fighting, his name is associated with the mistreatement of women in the family and gender inequality. Such often baseless accusations, cause a reconsideration of whether the man or woman who contributed greatly to society could be considered as a hero. However through the years the name of Gandhi and Mother Teresa are still well revered, proving that despite attempts at diminishment, heroism still perserveres.

Now, a pertinent question to consider is whether faults in human character diminish the heroism. Is a drug dealer who saves a child from a car accident on the street considered a hero? Or did he just make the correct spur of the moment decision? Would appreciating this character lead to inspiration to save those in danger, or shine a spotlight on a person can still be a hero despite doing drugs? The best way heroism is highlighted in these contexts is when the intent of heroic act is focused on, rather than the character trait to which the heroic trait can be attributed. This way, although the drug dealer's credibility as a heroic figure would be dimished due to his background, his intent to save a child could still be considered admirable and heroic.

Thus, for historic heroic figures, media scrutiny does not completley diminish their heroic acts, as their personality traits that inspired their actions are venerated amoung society decades after their passing. By focusing on the intent of heroism, even persons with less than ideal personal lives, still maintain their heroism through media scrutiny.